- For more information regarding the tourist offer of our country, visithttps://www.peru.travel/en-us/
It was founded on January 18th, 1535 by the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro. Lima was during the colonial period, one of the most important cities of the continent. During this period, the aristocracy and the different religious orders settled around and formed what is now called "El Damero de Pizarro".
It is located in the Historic Center of the city where we can also find the Government Palace, the Cathedral of Lima, the Church of the Sagrario, the Archbishop's Palace of Lima, the Municipal Palace and the Union Club.
Address: Between Jiron Carabaya, Junín, Huallaga and La Unión in Cercado de Lima district.
It is located in the Historic Centre of Lima. Its facade is Spanish Baroque style, highlighting its monumentality. Its granite carved portal would later influence those on other churches, including the Church of Merced. The vaults of the central and two side naves are painted in mudejar style: a mix of Moorish and Spanish designs. The main altar is totally made from wood.
Catacombs were discovered in 1943, they contain thousands of skulls and bones, having served as a burial-place until 1808, when the city cemetery was opened outside Lima. It is estimated that 25,000 bodies were laid to rest there; the crypts, built of bricks and mortar, are very solid and have stood up well to earthquakes, it is also believe there existed secret passageways that connected to the Cathedral and the Tribunal of the Holy Inquisition.
Address: Jirón Lampa, Cercado de Lima.
Also known as "Park of the Waters" or "Magic Water Circuit". It is a park located in the neighborhood of Santa Beatriz, in Cercado de Lima District. It was inaugurated on the 26th of July of 2007, constituting one of the municipal projects of great magnitude, icon of the city of Lima and symbol of recovery of the public spaces of the city.
The Magic Water Circuit has the Guinness Book record for the largest fountain complex in the world, displaying 13 distinct fountains and many are interactive. All of the fountains are illuminated at night, many with continuously changing color schemes. A colorful laser light program synchronized with classical and Peruvian music makes the fountains sparkle and shine as the water flows in unique patterns and shapes.
Address: Jr. Madre de Dios S/N, Cercado de Lima.
It is a large viewpoint near to the Government Palace and on the banks of the Rímac river. From there you can see the ancient district of Rímac, the Cerro San Cristóbal, the “Desamparados” Train Station and many vice regal mansions. It has three amphitheaters and scenarios for varieties and Creole music. It is an obligatory place for Art biennials and gastronomy festivals that take place annually in the city. Usually, it offers local food and typical desserts stalls. Comedians and popular music usually plays in their amphitheaters.
Address: Jr. Santa S/N, Cercado de Lima.
It is an exclusive Shopping Mall, known for its nightlife and being a frequent place of foreign tourists. It was inaugurated on November 27th, 1998, occupies an area of 45 000 square meters. It has 115 commercial premises and receives an average 500,000 visits monthly.
The mall is built on an excavation at the top of the cliff of Lima and most of its spaces are on the void with a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean giving it a floating character.
Address: Malecón de la Reserva 610, Miraflores.
In Barranco you can walk through its boardwalk, streets, parks and squares enjoying beautiful sunsets. Weekends are ideal for night owls who like fun places such as restaurants, lounges and nightclubs.
Many more or less well known Peruvian writers and artist moved to the district and gave Barranco its special romantic and artistic flair that it still has today.
Address: Parque Central de Barranco - entre las Avenidas San Martín Chorrillos y Escuela Militar.
It was founded in 1926 and is located in the Free Village district. It exhibits private galleries that show more than 5.000 years of history of ancient Peru and the intimate relationship that Pre-Columbian societies had with nature. In the museum you will see over 50,000 ancient Peruvian pots; admire glittering jewelry and intricate masks; marvel at the accurate detail of Moche portrait vessels, ceramic sculptures resembling human faces; and discover ceramics created by ancient Inca, Nazca and Chancay cultures.
Address: Av. Simón Bolivar 1515, Pueblo Libre.
It is a military fortification built in the XVIII Century in the Bay of Callao, located near the port of the same name, during the governments of the Viceroys José Antonio Manso de Velasco and Manuel de Amat and Juniet, to defend the port against the attacks of Pirates and Corsairs.
It is one of the few works of military architecture that exist in Peru and it is the largest one that the Spaniards built in America.
Address: Plaza Independencia S/N, Callao.
It is an archaeological site belonging to the Lima culture, during the period of the regional developments (200-700 b.C.), located in the district of Miraflores.
It is built almost entirely with adobes and filled with boulders and sand. It is formed by a pyramid of 25 meters of height and a set of yards, squares and enclosures to the northeast of this one. It has an exhibition hall, tour circuit and other attractions.Address: Calle General Borgoño Cuadra 8 S/N, Miraflores.
The National Museum is one of the two main museums in the Peruvian history. It is located in the district of San Borja. It houses thousands of artifacts covering the entire period of human occupation in Peru, including an impressive collection of Moche, Nazca and Wari pre-Columbian ceramics.
The museum also houses reproductions of many famous ancient artifacts of the Andean culture, especially the "lanzón monolítico" (monolithic spear) of the Chavín de Huantar Culture; a recreation of the burial chamber of the “Señor de Sipán”, among others.
Address: Av. Javier Prado Este 2466, San Borja.
It is an archaeological and military museum located in the district of Santiago de Surco. It was created in the decade of 1960 from the private collection of the Peruvian businessman and diplomat Miguel Mujica Gallo.
It contains more than eight thousand pieces belonging to the pre-Columbian Peruvian cultures, containing pieces of gold, silver and platinum; multiple textiles, ceramics, mummies, funerary bales and other valuable objects of the time. Likewise, it contains an important collection of different weapons of the world, dating the oldest of the 13th century BC.
Address: Jr Alonso de Molina 1100, Santiago de Surco.
It is the most important archaeological complex in Lima, occupying an area of 465.32 hectares. It is located in the district of Pachacamac, on the right bank of the Lurín river, very close to the Pacific Ocean and opposite a group of homonymous islands.
It contains the remains of several buildings, dating from the III Century until the XV Century, being the buildings of the Inca period (1450-1532) the best preserved. In this enclosure a former pre-Hispanic Oracle was found, while in Cuzco (Inca City to the southeast of the country), constitutes one of the main places for worship to the God Pachacamac.
Address: Antigua Panamericana Sur Km. 31.5 , Lurín Lima.
It's the oldest museum in Peru. It was founded in 1822 by José Bernardo de Tagle, Bernardo de Monteagudo and Mariano Eduardo de Rivero and Ustariz, who took on the task of installing the National Museum of Peru Project in 1826.
Alberga más de 100 000 artefactos que abarcan toda la historia de la ocupación humana en nuestro país. Destacan la Estela Raimondi y el Obelisco Tello de Chavín de Huantar, y una impresionante maqueta de la ciudadela Machu Picchu.
Dirección: Plaza Bolivar S/N, Pueblo Libre Lima.
It was created on July 26th, 1968. It works in the old local of the National Senate, which during the time of the Spanish domination served as headquarters of the Court of the Holy Inquisition. It is currently one of the main and most crowded museums in the capital. This museum seeks to showcase and disseminate the history of the Congress of the Republic and its Cultural heritage in order to strengthen the parliamentary institutional culture.
Dirección: Plaza Bolivar jirón Junín S/N, Cercado de Lima.
This Baroque temple was built in the second half of the XVIII Century where it was the ancient colonial district of Pachacamilla. On its main Altar is the image of the “Lord of Miracles” (Señor de los Milagros), also called "Christ of Pachacamilla" or "Cristo Moreno", whose iconic representation is remote to "Christ on the Cross", painted in a humble wall of a barn by an Angolan slave in Lima of the 17th Century.
Address: Jirón Huancavelica 515 (Cruce con Av. Tacna), Cercado de Lima.
It is located 400 m.a.s.l. and is the highest hill in the city. At the top, it is the imposing cross with a height of approx. 20 mts. and it safeguards all the citizens of Lima for 71 years.
The cross is part of the hill almost from its foundation and at present, it continues inviting devotees, to make a pilgrimage towards it every first Sunday of the month of May. The cross that we can observe today on the hill, is not the original, which was built on wood; this is a piece forged in cast iron that was placed in its place during the Balta government. From the top of the Cerro San Cristóbal you can contemplate all Lima. When the sky is clear you can see the beaches of Chorrillos, La Punta, San Lorenzo Island and all the capital city.
Address: Está ubicado entre el Distrito del Rímac y el Distrito de San Juan de Lurigancho
Parque del Amor was inaugurated on February 14th, 1993 (Day of Love). It is located in the district of Miraflores. This park is entirely dedicated to all lovers and offers a stunning view over the bay of Lima. It is really romantic here at sunrise and sunset.
The park bears a resemblance to Park Güell in Barcelona, thanks to the colorful mosaic walls displaying quotes on love spread throughout. In the center of Parque del Amor you will find the statue "El Beso" (The Kiss) from Victor Delfín. It shows two lovers united in an intimate kiss.
Address: Malecón Cisneros, Miraflores
The Parque de la Amistad is the great park in Santiago de Surco, a popular place for young and old. One of the main attractions is an original steam locomotive from 1926. Visitors can enter in an old train station, decorated with accessories from Peru's train history, buy a ticket and climb onto one of the three open wagons. The journey takes you around an artificial lagoon (where you can rent a small pedal boat) or the copy of a Spanish Arc, the "Arco de la Amistad". The original Moorish Arc constructed in 1924 unfortunately was demolished in 1939 during the modernization of Lima. The rebuilt copy of this sign of fraternity and friendship was inaugurated in 2001 in the “Parque de la Amistad” by the King of Spain, Juan Carlos and his wife Sofia.
Address: Between Caminos del Inca Avenue and Las Nazarenas St.